DISQUS

LiewCF Tech Blog: Department of Islamic Development Malaysia is hosting PayPal Phishing Site?!

  • e-tech · 3 years ago
    Now that's strange!
  • CypherHackz · 3 years ago
    i think gov should always be aware about this.
  • Ady · 3 years ago
    What do you think, CF? My first hypothesis is that either:

    1. The server has been hacked
    2. A staff is doing something bad

    After all they are just another government office! I shall help by trying to inform them as well.
  • Zealios[dot]Net · 3 years ago
    I think some hack thier server. So this remind us to be careful next time :)
  • Palmdoc · 3 years ago
    Err... is phishing haram? :P
  • Ady · 3 years ago
    @Palmdoc:

    Yes, you can say that it is haram. Especially when your intention is to steal people's login information. Why else would you want other people's login if not to steal money at the end.

    In conclusion, steal login is to steal money. Stealing money is a sin, and haram.

    I think we are going to have a hard time explaining phishing to these people, though. :-(
  • colbert · 3 years ago
    liewcf. did you at least inform Police or MCMC?
  • Abhinav · 3 years ago
    Strange and really surprising...to me
  • huZmid · 3 years ago
    good work Liew
  • zamri · 3 years ago
    I think maybe someone try to use the JAKIM website to cheating people. Someone can access to hosting probably???... I don't know... just guesst it.... hehehe.. but for paypal user ... please be carefull.....
  • newsiness · 3 years ago
    I think this site is being hacked...and i dont think the islamic site owner will do this...
  • uner · 3 years ago
    OMGosh, this has shock me out really..
  • Diana · 3 years ago
    You can complain to esapa@icugov.my This email is taken from page N3 of the Star dated 7th October 2006. Though this email is to complain on late payment due for government contractors, I am sure this will get someone's attention of what's going on.
  • Diana · 3 years ago
    There is a mistake in the newspaper. It should be esapa@icu.gov.my (note the dot in between icu and gov). I have sent them an email on this matter.
  • LcF · 3 years ago
    Thanks. Let's see how many days it take for them to delete the folder (only a few mouse clicks or keystrokes)
  • Nicholas · 3 years ago
    what is phishing? according to my firefox 2, it says that side use to trick us to key in our personal information
  • LcF · 3 years ago
    Read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing for phishing info.
  • shah · 3 years ago
    I think that the person who has acces to jakim website is doing this. F**k la. It shame to Malaysia when we has website admin like that. Its goverment website you know.
  • Malaysia Property · 3 years ago
    wahaha....the webmaster trying to cheat

    don't they know is a sin to do that....DOSAAA!!!
  • Buaya · 3 years ago
  • mypapit · 3 years ago
    Shah, I don't think that is the work of the webmaster, I think the webserver is vulnerable to crackers. And they put on the phishing site
  • newsiness · 3 years ago
    Even Google Blog site also got hacked....
    http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2006/10/about-th...
  • aku · 3 years ago
    "is phishing haram?"
    is this a real question? smells like something wrong...

    lcf, did you visit JAKIM website to learn about Islam, or did you there just for the sake of making fool of the webmaster and the gov?

    anyway, thanks for the info.
  • cjcm · 3 years ago
    Ishhh...Fasting month also want to fish...errr...phish...
  • Ady · 3 years ago
    I received a respond from JAKIM today, with a link to a website. I don't want to post a link here that might cause akismet to see my comment as spam, so those who are interested you are welcomed to my blog.
  • Lela Iskandar · 3 years ago
    I had been able to report this to JAKIM. The page is no longer accessible.
  • aku · 3 years ago
    Refer to comment #26

    No Update From You. This is bad. :(
  • LcF · 3 years ago
    okay, the folder has been deleted. :)
  • fish · 3 years ago
    Hmm this is bad.After all,this brings bad reputation to jakim.(hey they should hire more computer experts to protect their system,shouldnt they?)
  • faizal · 3 years ago
    OMG, another scam. Has somebody check the iP for the dns. If it differ then it might be the MITM attack by third party on LAN or WAN. If LAN then it's most probably insider. but as the picture says, it's xsripting technique it's seem posible the outsider too. But as far as i'm concerned, many mislead has come from malaysia also but it's also possible from another country to, just a though, i might be wrong about it. For example, curi line telefon "phreaking" Not long ago. This is scary. This is no good news for technopreneur. Now - now, i want to make money online, and now we facing a dilemma. As i've seen, lot of education portal and some small company from government sectors are using CMS and this is so exposed with the xcripting technique. Alas.....
  • tqm_z · 3 years ago
    This incident wasn't supprised me, JAKIM's website has been reported defaced two month ago... no wonder somebody succes fully upload the files there...
  • nurshafie · 3 years ago
    base on my experience, we aslo can creat a programme (c++ or Java) to use another domain and declare is as ours.
  • Poobalan · 3 years ago
    well, at least JAKIM got first place in the most visited Govt website ! refer today's (1/12/06) Star or Sun papers.
  • ركيبكم يالمزاغيب · 3 years ago
    ( . )( . )
    ) (
    ( Y )

    WOW !! o_O